

BUILDING INDEPENDENCE CELEBRATING COMMUNITY

Capital Campaign for Lawrence L. Frank Center and Long Beach Center

February 2021

The Capital Campaign is now at 80% of Goal!

The excitement and momentum are building as we reach 80% of the \$5.9M fundraising goal for the Building Independence Celebrating Community Capital Campaign for the AbilityFirst Lawrence L. Frank Center in Pasadena and the Long Beach Center! We are continuing our efforts to secure the balance of the funds needed to complete the project.

Construction is on track in Pasadena with approximately 75% of the work completed. Interior walls have been framed and electrical, mechanical, and plumbing are nearly completed. The finishing touches have started to take shape as we begin millwork, painting and placing floors. The parking lot and courtyards are just about complete, and landscaping will begin soon. Construction on the Long Beach Center is expected to break ground in the Spring.

The funds raised for the campaign support specific areas of need including a teaching kitchen and more space for our growing College to Career program. With just 20% of our capital campaign to go, now is your time to make your mark and help us cross the finish line! If you haven't already made a pledge, please consider being part of AbilityFirst's expansion of our programs and have your name included as an inspiration for other community members.

For more information about how you can help, please contact Lori Gangemi, Chief Executive Officer at 626.396.1024 or lgangemi@abilityfirst.org.







Richard Frank taking the golden hammer to the wall at Lawrence L. Frank Center



ExploreAbility participant Zack Wood participating in demo day at Lawrence L. Frank Center



CEO Lori Gangemi looking over the teaching kitchen at Lawrence L. Frank Center



BUILDING INDEPENDENCE CELEBRATING COMMUNITY

CAMPAIGN COMMITTEE

Richard R. Frank Co-Chair Gloria Deukmejian Co-Chair Joan Alderson Bob & Mary Alice Braly Mark Fedde Caroline Hansen

Deloris Mayuga Linda Silver Julie & Henry Taboada

Harlan Thompson

HONORARY COMMITTEE Supervisor Kathryn Barger

County of Los Angeles Supervisor, Fifth District Supervisor Janice Hahn County of Los Angeles Supervisor, Fourth District Terri Kohl

Terry Tornek, Former Mayor of Pasadena

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Wendy Lees, Chair

David Saeta, Vice Chair
Steve Brockmeyer
Ray C. Cherry
Will Craig
Mike Dokmanovich
Tom Fenchel
Richard R. Frank
Lauren Hom
Willan (Will) Johnson
John Kelly
Kathryn Sanders Platnick
Randall "Randy" Repp
Mary J. Spellman
Louis F. Teran
Harlan Thompson

HUMANITARIAN

The Ahmanson Foundation FOUNDER

Anonymous
Gail and Jim Ellis
Richard R. Frank
Terri & Jerry Kohl
Long Beach Guild

Linda Toomajian BUILDER

Los Angeles County Supervisor
Kathryn Barger
Mary Alice & Bob Braly
Steve & Mary Brockmeyer
Posey Family Foundation
Mr. & Mrs. Thomas D. Fenchel
Fred & Peggy Hartley Family
Foundation
Henry L. Guenther Foundation
Ambassador W. Robert Kohorst
(Ret.) & Shelley A. Allen
DEVELOPER

Joan & Tom Alderson Willian Johnson & Lakshmi Datsur Susan Frank

LA County Supervisor Janice Hahn Gregg Ireland Wendy Lees & Tom Boyle

Carol & John Llewellyn Chad & Terri Nikoletich Louis R. Petitfils
Elizabeth & Tom Polenzani
Kathryn & Joseph Platnick
Dave & Cindy Seastrom
Laurie Frank Wilson
FRIEND

Anonymous Ray C. Cherry

Carrie Estelle Doheny Foundation Mark & Jennifer Fedde

Arlene Fillius

Anonymous

Lori Gangemi Caroline M. Hansen

John & Jennifer Kelly Anita & Vince Lawler

Madison Foundation for Families, Inc.

Sandy & Deloris Mayuga Mrs. Ruth A. Peck

Lorraine Petitfils Education

Mr. & Mrs. Ernest Posey Randy & Andrea Repp Rotary Club of San Marino/ San Marino Motor Classic Linda & David Silver

Louis & Susana Teran Harlan & Alison Thompson Julie & Henry Taboada

Andrea Van de Kamp

Special Thanks: Anonymous, Mr. & Mrs. Chuck Almada, Christian B., Michael Barkyoumb, Roy Benstead, Richard Bjorklund, Ruth Blair, James Braun, Larry Burnight, Richard Bybel, Marshal Chuang, Lynn Clarke, Caroline Cluck, Barbara Cortez, Kay Crawford, Judith Crews, Gloria Deukmejian, Mike Dokmanovich, Judi-Rivers Drake, Marie Cady-Drummond, Ray O'brien & Patricia Dwyer, Gregory Haeselar, Mr. & Mrs. Todd R. Herman, Mark Holdsworth, Don Hutchison, Mary Janssen, Janet Johnson, Gale Kohl, Jay Henneberry & Roberta Manshel, Ruby Marshall, Ellen Mathis, Deloris Mayuga, Danny McLoyd, Jenny Moore, Carol Parisi, Joan Robinson, David & Leslie Saeta, Mary Pat Sabol, James Saracino, Iris Schutz, Susan Short, Lynn Shrum, Chanda Sonkur, Mr. & Mrs. George Speicher, Fred Speicher, Mary Spellman, April Stover, Rosie Sussman, Terry Tornek, Patricia Vick, James & Yolanda Wallin, Linda Welch, Fran White, YYES



Patricia Vick

Lori Gangemi
Chief Executive Officer
Keri Casteñeda
Chief Operations Officer
Kashif Kahn
Chief Financial Officer



